page 7
page 9

photo: The Monmouthshire welcome sign near the Severn Bridge.

The current unitary authority was created in 1996 and covers the eastern half of the traditional county, including the following towns: Abergavenny, Caldicot, Chepstow, Monmouth and Usk

Monmouthshire County Council It was formed on April 1, 1996 as a successor to the previous district of Monmouth a small part of the former administrative county of Gwent, which themselves were created in 1974.